Fish, Bait, Hooked.

Soooo, it’s been a while. Time again has run away, life is rapidly picking up speed. So it’s time to slow down again. Come back to the present and make a conscious effort to take time out for my blog.

My last post Stepping out of your comfort Zone talked about comfort zones. Well, over the last year or so I’ve taken myself out of my comfort zone and plonked myself, pure and raw, into new situations, new places and uncharted territory.

The latest ‘new’ thing to add to my collection of unfinished projects and hobbies is Personal Training.

I have never ever ever ever ever (I can’t emphasise this enough, EVER!) been interested in going to the gym. The thought of joining all the posers staring at themselves in the mirrors as they flex and glisten with sweat was enough to put me off for life. I didn’t want to be the beetroot red, extremely sweaty girl struggling with the machines. Grimacing as she tries to complete as many reps as possible, face screwed up as if in a gurning competition. Don’t get me wrong, I’m not opposed to exercise, it’s just doing it in public I have an issue with!

I’m not sure what changed, when or why. Following on from a wellness week in the workplace where various health professionals gave talks and carried out activities (we made dream catchers and smoothies, was a pretty good week in work!) I found myself in a gym identifying areas of stress build up, muscle imbalances and posture. Sitting at a desk for most of the day I kind of knew what the outcome would be. I have to say, it did helped and something shifted slightly inside, metaphorically that is.

In the little box that said ‘I’m interested in 4 free personal training sessions’ I put a tick…..and so it began.

Two days later an email popped up from the trainer at the gym with a brief introduction and formal invite to the free sessions. Tentatively I replied asking for more information.

Surprisingly to me it didn’t take much persuading. I was taking a  leap of faith, one more step on my journey of health and wellness. I was being bold and it felt good.

I wasn’t prepared for the non-physical health screening. Lots and lots of questions, not just about exercise but questions to myself. Where I had to dig deep to find the answer, really ask myself and then tell a complete stranger. It was hard work but a step that I now know is necessary and extremely helpful.  My confidence and self-esteem needed help, not just my body strength.

And that’s where I was got caught like a fish to bait. This was going to help my health in so many ways, inside and out. This red faced, nervous girl sat there filling out the health screening forms and deep down, silently and at the time unknowingly, was already hooked.

My trainer recently asked me in my second strategy session, what I was enjoying most about the experience so far. At the time I had to think about this and gave the answer ‘I enjoy the wide range of exercises we do and a friendly face helps’.

But sat writing this, there is more to it than that:

I enjoy having something new in my routine (as if it wasn’t busy enough!) Something that is making me feel good inside and out. I walk out of that gym every single time with a smile on my face (and not just because of a bit of geeky banter).

I enjoy the accomplishment of actually getting up and doing it, even if it is only once a week. I’m proud that I’ve taken the plunge into the world of proper exercise. My diet has improved tremendously and I actually enjoy the healthier version of my meals!

I feel the confidence seeping back into my life and it feels amazing.

Ok so I will always get nervous at doing new things and meeting new people, but I read recently that when you are nervous or scared of something, it just means that whatever you are doing or about to do, is important in your life. Which is so very very true.

I’m starting to see small results already and it has me craving more. If only I had the time and money!

This journey is important and having someone who will push me and encourage me in many positive ways is so important. That’s what is different about Personal Training and just going to the gym (which I’m still not ready for) and a friendly face each time does indeed help!

So Personal Training has joined my climbing, yoga, meditation and mindfulness journey.

I’m now in a position where I can look back and see how I’ve grown, where I’ve grown. But the journey is nowhere near ending. It will never end. There will always be something new to learn, about the world, about your life and most importantly about yourself.  The trick is to embrace and welcome each new thing that enters your life. To be open to the experiences you are presented with. To be open to yourself.

One thought on “Fish, Bait, Hooked.

  1. That’s great! Good for you 🙂 I love how one new things can cause so many healthy lifestyle changes…

    P.S.
    Honestly, if the others there aren’t beet red and making funny faces they probably aren’t trying enough 😛

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

