Vegetarian Month Done!

So my month of vegetarianism is drawing to a close with only a few hours to go.

I have to say, I definitely respect those who have chosen this lifestyle and stick with it! For whatever reason they have, it’s admirable.

I didn’t find it particularly difficult to stay away from meat. What I found difficult was finding something to eat, or having to actually think about what meal to have next rather than know off the top of my head. I guess with more time, vegetarian recipes would become more known and I wouldn’t have that problem.

Still, I’m a little glad it’s over.

I’m fed up of feeling weak, trying to find my protein in eggs and fish. There are only so many eggs you can eat in one day!

Maybe it would have been easier in the summer?

During the winter all you want is nice hearty meaty warm food – well we did anyway!

We did have quite a lot of support. Our families embraced it and bought in vegetarian food for us. Even those who are old school and believe in meat and 3 veg! The work cafe eventually stopped with the cheese and ordered in the falafels and people I’d never even met were offering up recipes and help.

All very much appreciated. So thank you all.

Although I think we will go back to eating meat, I don’t think we will have anywhere near as much. There will be considerable cut backs but not totally gone.

It’s actually quite interesting to hear that a number of climbers were once vegetarian but found they were becoming too weak and so went back to eating meat to gain strength and repair muscles.

There are pros and cons for both decisions and I think at the end of the day, each to their own.

Anyway the good news is we’ve raised over £200 for charity!

The bad news, I stupidly agreed to give up chocolate for the month of March which contains Easter and my Birthday.

And it’s not even for charity this time.

How idiotic of me.

You know I like chocolate.

Love chocolate.

Damn it.

 

2 thoughts on “Vegetarian Month Done!

  1. If you’re interested, check out the Thrive Diet by Brendan Brazier, a professional ironman triathlete who is also a vegan and knows an awful lot about non-animal based nutrition.

    It’s perfectly do-able to not eat meat and have a healthy, active lifestyle, you just need to put some thought and planning into what you eat.

    Like

Leave a Reply

